COMPASSION.

CompassionI have found a new gem in the heart of Nairobi city which somehow calms my soul. It’s a place I go when I need to watch the city by the night as I release what has built throughout the day. It is a spot that is only appreciated by the few who just want to sit tranquilly by the coffee bar with their feet dipped in the mini-warm pool while watching the city environs by the night. The reflections of the lights on the water surface are magical and I always fall in love with them every time. They do really excite my senses.

Today as I walk past the bravura reception and approach the hallway I bump into Clare. I met Clare during my last visit-which was two days ago. This spot has been her home for the last one month and it’s still going to be, for the next two months as she completes her project in Nairobi. Clare has the warmest and most genuine smile I have ever seen and it always gets my attention. However, today what caught my attention was the fancy tee shirt she has perfectly matched with some Levi pants. Actually, not even the tee shirt but the boldly printed words on it.

COMPASSION.

I always believe that compassion and kindness should always be our shared religion. These two must be the biggest love quotient and ultimate show of real love. This is because kindness and compassion for others creates kindness & compassion for oneself!

Compassion though does not mean being mean to yourself or putting others before thee. It means taking care of yourself and then you are in a capacity to share what you have with others. Sometimes we experience overwhelming feelings of guilt when saying “no” to something or someone. The selfishness we critically experience when we seemingly put our own needs and wants first before those around us is a killer one. Let’s not even talk about the insufficiency we are compelled to endure when we are torn between the two.

I come baring good news that, these feelings and experiences are triumphantly replaced with logic and reason evidence: I have to give to myself in order to continue to give to others. I can’t possibly give what I don’t have.

Not because you are arrogant, egotistical, apathetic and want to showcase at center stage, but because when you are giving to yourself, feeling strong and complete in your body, mind, heart, and soul – you give yourself the unique ability to do more with yourself, be more of yourself and give more of yourself in every level.

When you are full, be it of energy, positivity, abundance, inspiration, motivation and love – there is far more available from within you – to spread to those you are fortunate enough to touch and engage. However…. when you feel demotivated, weak, depleted, negative, fearful and lacking, there is far less, of anything accessible, for you to share with those you are blessed to serve and love.

Therefore, it is an obligation to yourself and your audience to ensure that you look after yourself physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. And only in this way, you can deeply and truly enrich your own life through every passionate role you play, where enthralled audiences throughout your daily world are too captured, entertained and engaged- all the richer.

Go forth, show compassion to yourself and it will flow to those around you.

!X0X0!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment